August 9-10, 2013: Orkanizer.com; Update on Whether Yesterday’s Tactics Worked to Get Me out of Worrying-and-Sad Land

My Writing Problems Yesterday

So, to recap, the main problem has been an ongoing hesitance to just hammer out the methodology section. I don’t even want to think about how many weeks I’ve been trying to hammer it out–weeks that, honestly, I don’t have to spare!

My Strategy For Getting Unstalled

I mentioned yesterday that I was going to try journaling in my Livescribe researcher’s journal notebook to get unstalled. I did that . . . plus some “Rowena Murray Level 4 Outlining” in combination with some “Sanford Kaye quick writing under pressure.”

The Results

Here are a video and some photos sharing the process and the results. šŸ™‚ NOTE: Click the little gear on the YouTube video to change the viewing definition to High Definition.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

So For Today . . .

Oy! šŸ™‚ I’ve got a lot to do today. Or I should say, rather, I’m aiming to do a lot today! Switching it up a bit: As you might know, I’m a HUGE fan of Liquid Planner in terms of learning how long it really takes you to do things, and in terms of using its Gantt chart as a reverse calendar that constantly updates your slated finishing date based on time that passes, time you log in, and tick offs that you input/record/document. In Liquid Planner, you definitely maintain an overall understanding of you project. Today I am going to work in Orkanizer for the first time. I like that it asks me to estimate how many Pomodoro tomatoes I expect each task to take.

HUGE PERSONAL REVELATION ABOUT THE POMODORO TECHNIQUE: I have discovered that the Pomodoro technique (doing tomatoes) only works for me if I try to beat my time estimate for a task. Otherwise, it’s just the endless doing of tomato after tomato after tomato . . .

Of course, I am only able to give GOOD estimates for how long these tasks REALLY take me because I’ve been logging how long they take me in Liquid Planner. I used to have TERRIBLY low estimates for how long things took me. I could kiss the Liquid Planner developers for getting me beyond that delusion, ALONE! šŸ™‚ It’s a terrible delusion with which to be operating, to not really know how long things REALLY take you. Here’s a picture of my Orkanizer work space for today (click on it to enlarge it in another browser). Yeah: Lots of tasks. Ambitious, I know. šŸ™‚ We’ll see! (I’m wearing my Ernest Hemingway trousers, so . . . you never know! This just might turn out to be a GREAT writing day. :p)

I am PARTICULARLY excited about outlining my methods section in my Livescribe researcher’s journal notebook and then just EXPLAINING vocally what research actions I will take. A huge shout out to my Phinished friend wallaby for suggesting that to get unstalled, I just type how I would talk . . . and then revise as necessary. Hugs, wallaby!!!

NOTE: Click the photo to enlarge it in another browser window. TryingOutOrkanizerToday_Aug102013

About Z. Sanders

I love to inspire and encourage, and I believe in counting the blessings (one will always be able to find SOMETHING to be down about, if one tries hard enough). A wife, mathematics educator, and mathematics education researcher, I love to learn and love to teach. I'm a tech-o-phile and avid reader, and I love to design and create systems to support creative work. I love trying new recipes almost as much as I love the Spanish language. A complete music aficionado, sometimes I'm a guitar student. I am trying to live with a faith God can SEE (not just one HE can hear). (I first heard this sentiment from Joel Osteen.) I am CONVINCED that kettle belling, line dancing, jogging, free weight lifting, exercise biking, and Barry's Bootcamp are THE combo! (Try it!). Those are important, because, well, if it's seafood or Mexican food, I'm in! Thanks for stopping by! Godspeed with your endeavors, and may you experience joy today. -- "Decide that you want it more than you are afraid of it." -- Bill Cosby

Leave a Reply

