July 28, 2013: Update on Yesterday’s Progress. And Today’s Worship Service: To Go, or Not To Go. That is the Question.

Update about Yesterday

So, it was a STRANGE day of getting a LOT of learning and prewriting and quote-grabbing and paraphrase-forming done that felt great.

An important, important thing I learned yesterday that INSTANTLY is improving my writing and thinking in writing is the difference between analysis, arguments, summary, and paraphrase, and how claims in analyses differ from claims in arguments. OH, MY WORD is my ability to understand how I want to write things oh so much EASIER with that knowledge.

Here are my summary notes about all of that (they came from what I could remember of my reading of the book “Writing Analytically,” 6th ed., by Rosenwasser and Stephen). One thing I forgot to add to the notes was that for an ANALYSIS the writer does some interpreting (i.e. “this means/implies THIS”), but for a SUMMARY there is just description. Those notes now:

NOTES SHARE: [RED_NOTEBK_P99]NotesOnBookWriting Analytically_AnalysisArgSummarizeParaphrase

Now, all of that learning and prewriting, while it was GREAT and INCREDIBLY IMPORTANT, yielded little DRAFTING. Perhaps that’s what today will be all about then–Part B: Drafting away! I hope so!!

One other thing: An amazing FIND/CONNECTION occurred yesterday that clarified the PROBLEM of my study, and, well, I’m going to take the leap today to incorporate it (and all of yesterday’s learning and prewriting) to revise my problem statement. It never would have happened had I not been employing Single’s method of academic reading, citeable note taking, and writing (see the book “Demystifying Dissertation Writing” by Peg Boyle Single). This new development is a little . . . concerning to me? Scary to me?

So, I know that in truth I need not be scared: It’s just a draft . . . just writing on paper . . . and I still have the old drafts if I need to switch back. It’s just . . . well . . . reformulating the problem statement at this stage feels a little . . . yeah, scary! I think it feels this way because I’m a relative newbie. I am trying to lean on advice/words I’ve read in research design guides that say that in qualitative research, problem formation is an iterative process. That’s my story, and I’m sticking to it! 

For Today

To Attend Worship Today or NOT To Attend Worship Today. That is THE Question.

I am considering either skipping worship today or taking my stuff with me and working on it as I listen to the sermon in the background. I have a very spiritually dedicated aunt (J. Marie) who was a teacher who would take her lesson planning and grading stuff right into church, sit on one of the front-most pews, and work away! I mean, she would be GETTING TO IT!   The spiritual rejuvenation I get from church is RIDICULOUSLY amazing and is what keeps me buoyed the whole week to survive the crazy time/task management I must do balancing work and writing. I don’t want to skip it. It technically will cost me only 2 hours (that will not mean the difference between submitting a draft today or not), and less than that if I pull an “Aunt J. Marie.” 

We’ll see. I’ll try to remember to post back and update about it all.

Now I will open LiquidPlanner, survey yesterday’s note to myself about where I left of and where I should start today (see image below), use the current task’s COMMENTS FEATURE to make a plan for today, and get it cracking!

ReviwingYesterdaysNotesToMyselfBeforeIRecommenceWriting7-28-2013 6-33-12 AM

I’m going to hop in the shower, pick up some breakfast (to get out, get some air, clear my head, and fuel up), and then return home to commence Part B: using all of yesterday’s wonderful prep work to yield today’s drafting (there is no way I’ll make worship service now, with it being 9:06 AM already. That’s settled then!).

Keeping my fingers crossed for much needed drafting, and praying myself up! Wish me luck and faith and courage and focus and typed words!!! 🙂

Blessings . . .

About Z. Sanders

I love to inspire and encourage, and I believe in counting the blessings (one will always be able to find SOMETHING to be down about, if one tries hard enough). A wife, mathematics educator, and mathematics education researcher, I love to learn and love to teach. I'm a tech-o-phile and avid reader, and I love to design and create systems to support creative work. I love trying new recipes almost as much as I love the Spanish language. A complete music aficionado, sometimes I'm a guitar student. I am trying to live with a faith God can SEE (not just one HE can hear). (I first heard this sentiment from Joel Osteen.) I am CONVINCED that kettle belling, line dancing, jogging, free weight lifting, exercise biking, and Barry's Bootcamp are THE combo! (Try it!). Those are important, because, well, if it's seafood or Mexican food, I'm in! Thanks for stopping by! Godspeed with your endeavors, and may you experience joy today. -- "Decide that you want it more than you are afraid of it." -- Bill Cosby

Leave a Reply

