EXTRA REFLECTION: Handwritten Progress Bar Chart: State of the Proposal as of Now

Diagnosis: Struck with a case of “computer domestication.”

Prescription: Stop working digitally and GO PHYSICAL.

The Details

So, I’m feeling a little lost in my computer right now, in terms of having an overall sense of the proposal. The Thesis Whisperer refers to this as allowing your computer to domesticate you.

The effects are that I feel BLINDED regarding the status of the proposal. That’s bad. Very, very bad: If it’s anything I need at this juncture, it’s VISION about what I’m doing and where things are going, and HOW things will be happening.

Time to take stock and go physical: Below is my handwritten, Livescribe graph to help me take stock of the state of the proposal. Now I will hole-punch physical printouts of these sections and store them in order in my physical THESIS BINDER (a three-ring 1-inch binder).

STATUS_OF_PROPOSAL_BARCHART_July28_2013.png

About Z. Sanders

I love to inspire and encourage, and I believe in counting the blessings (one will always be able to find SOMETHING to be down about, if one tries hard enough). A wife, mathematics educator, and mathematics education researcher, I love to learn and love to teach. I'm a tech-o-phile and avid reader, and I love to design and create systems to support creative work. I love trying new recipes almost as much as I love the Spanish language. A complete music aficionado, sometimes I'm a guitar student. I am trying to live with a faith God can SEE (not just one HE can hear). (I first heard this sentiment from Joel Osteen.) I am CONVINCED that kettle belling, line dancing, jogging, free weight lifting, exercise biking, and Barry's Bootcamp are THE combo! (Try it!). Those are important, because, well, if it's seafood or Mexican food, I'm in! Thanks for stopping by! Godspeed with your endeavors, and may you experience joy today. -- "Decide that you want it more than you are afraid of it." -- Bill Cosby

Leave a Reply

