July 26, 2013: And . . . It’s Go Time!: Time To Use a Writing Log and My Reverse Calendar in LiquidPlanner To Buckle Down.

NOTE: THIS POST CONTAINS A DOWNLOADABLE: It is a writing log form in the form of an MS Excel sheet.

Oy! Okay. Well: Yesterday was psychologically tough (see yesterday’s post): I honestly couldn’t write. I truly needed to take a step back and re-read about the writing process.

I’m about 75% done with that (I need to read a few more things in the Writing Analytically book).

I know what you’re thinking: “Z! You don’t have time for that! You are stalling and avoiding writing! You are self-sabotaging.”

Well, I respectfully disagree.

I know myself. I am stalled because I am trying to do too much at once and have forgotten the method of prewriting as to be able to write.

I have to return to that.

So I have to remind my mind of the in’s-and-out’s and why’s of prewriting to enable writing. Two to three hours spent doing that at this juncture, versus another 8 hours of stressing myself out, hands hovering over the keyboard, IS the right thing to do. I know this from experience! At some point, I have earned the right to “know my truth” about my writing process needs. 😛

In the meanwhile, I do indeed have a”deliverable” that resulted from yesterday’s and today’s “thesis work” (read: “work figuring out how to commence writing again.”).

Aside: When IT’S GO TIME, it’s allllllll about deliverables! Yes, indeedy!

Anyhoo, the deliverable is a writing log that I created in Excel. It has space for me to chronicle what I’m doing, writing-wise, over the next 100 days. It’s inspiration came from this website: http://www.sagepub.com/goodson/study/resources.htm

Here’s a preview of it. Please click on it to enlarge it in another browser window.

ThesisWorkLog_SummerAndFall_2013

The MS Excel writing log sheet can be downloaded by clicking this link: Thesis Working Log Summer and Fall 2013

About Z. Sanders

I love to inspire and encourage, and I believe in counting the blessings (one will always be able to find SOMETHING to be down about, if one tries hard enough). A wife, mathematics educator, and mathematics education researcher, I love to learn and love to teach. I'm a tech-o-phile and avid reader, and I love to design and create systems to support creative work. I love trying new recipes almost as much as I love the Spanish language. A complete music aficionado, sometimes I'm a guitar student. I am trying to live with a faith God can SEE (not just one HE can hear). (I first heard this sentiment from Joel Osteen.) I am CONVINCED that kettle belling, line dancing, jogging, free weight lifting, exercise biking, and Barry's Bootcamp are THE combo! (Try it!). Those are important, because, well, if it's seafood or Mexican food, I'm in! Thanks for stopping by! Godspeed with your endeavors, and may you experience joy today. -- "Decide that you want it more than you are afraid of it." -- Bill Cosby

Leave a Reply

